by on October 3, 2020
49 views

Deactivating


Facebook gives you two options: deactivate or delete

The first couldn't be easier. On the desktop, click the menu at the top-right of your screen and choose Settings. Click General on the highest left and Edit next to "Manage Account." Scroll down and you will see a "Deactivate your account" link at rock bottom .

If you're on mobile, navigate to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Account Settings > Personal Information > Manage Account > Deactivate on iOS or Android.

"Deactivation" isn't an equivalent as leaving Facebook. Yes, your timeline will disappear, you will not have access to the location or your account via mobile apps, friends can't post or contact you, and you will lose access to all or any those third-party services that use (or require) Facebook for login. But Facebook doesn't delete the account. Why? So you'll reactivate it later.

Just just in case that expected re-activation isn't in your future, you ought to download a replica of all of your data on Facebook—posts, photos, videos, chats, etc.—from the settings menu (under "General"). What you discover might surprise you.

Account Deletion


To fully delete your Facebook account forever, attend facebook.com/help/delete_account. Just remember that, per the Facebook data use policy, "after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it's been shared with others, it had been otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it had been copied or stored by other users."

Translation: if you wrote a discuss a friend's status update or photo, it'll remain even after you delete your own profile. a number of your posts and pictures may lollygag around for as long as 90 days after deletion, as well, though just on Facebook servers, not survive the location .

There is a deletion grace period of 30 days now (up from 14). meaning there's a month before Facebook gets obviate your account, just just in case you modify your mind. It's only one more way Facebook cares.

Deletion on Behalf of Others


If you would like to notify Facebook a few user you recognize is under 13, report the account, you narc. If Facebook can "reasonably verify" the account is employed by someone underage—Facebook bans kids under 13 to suits federal law—it will delete the account instantly, without informing anyone.

There's a separate form to request removal of accounts for people that are medically incapacitated and thus unable to use Facebook. For this to figure , the requester must prove they're the guardian of the person in question (such as by power of attorney) also as offer a politician note from a doctor or medical facility that spells out the incapacitation. Redact any info necessary to stay some privacy, like medical account numbers, addresses, etc.

If a user has gave up the ghost , a legacy contact—a Facebook friend or relative who was designated by the account owner before they died—can get access thereto person's timeline, once approved by Facebook. The legacy contact may have to supply a link to an obituary or other documentation like a death certificate. Facebook will "memorialize" the page therefore the deceased's timeline lives on (under control of the legacy contact, who can't post as you), or if preferred, remove it.

Designate a selected legacy contact person to handle your account after your passing. you'll find that under Settings > General > Manage Account > Your Legacy Contact. Once you set one up, you will get a notification per annum from Facebook to countercheck that the contact should stay an equivalent , unless you decide out. you've got the choice to make sure that after you die, if the legacy contact does report you to Facebook as deceased, your account gets deleted—even if the legacy contact wants the timeline to be memorialized.

Posted in: Technology
Topics: facebook
Be the first person like this
Be the first person to like this.
Be the first person like this